Fuso FG vs FE frame

haven

Expedition Leader
The Fuso FG frame rises up so the engine can be mounted higher off the ground by a few inches. This provides extra clearance for the transfer case and front drive shaft.

However, the curved frame makes it more difficult to fit a camper body onto the frame. Compare the Fuso FG 4x4 in the foreground of this photo with the straight frame of the Fuso FE in the background.

fgframe.jpg

Mitsubishi Fuso of America has announced that a new 4x4 truck will be available late in 2008. It's possible that the new model will use the straight frame of the FE.

Chip Haven

dhackney

Expedition Leader
Chip,

That is a great photo for showing the differences between the frames on the two models.

Step Down Frame

I'm not an engineer, but from what I can see from ours, unless Mitsubishi Fuso significantly changes the design of the transfer case and front suspension we are likely to continue to see a step down frame on the FG.

The FG's step down frame can be an advantage, depending on your design.
1. The step down section enables an easy frame extension. Grind off the rivets that connect it to the straight frame section, fabricate and install the extension, put in proper grade bolts, get a lengthened intermediate section drive shaft, have a muffler shop fabricate a longer exhaust pipe section, insert an extension in one wiring loom and you have a frame of any length you need.

2. If you choose to implement a 3 point pivot sub-frame that pivots in the rear you can end up with a flat frame from cab to rear. Attach the front of the pivot frame in the forward section of the stepped down frame so its top lines up with the upper section of the step frame. Establish your rear pivot height to maintain the flat frame. Success depends on how tall your sub-frame section is and how much pivot you allow before you hit the bump stops.

Automatic vs. Manual engine output