Help Kinda im new

Alpinestar

i know that i will probably get hashed like 'newbies' do on all other forum sites.
but i am very new to 4 wheeling and other expedition activies. so the question im asking the senior veterans of 4 wheeling is what was the first thing you added to your vehcile and what do you think a vehicle needs first before other things can come... i have been searching for a vehicle for a while(almost a year or so)ever since i started driving legally. ;) i belive i have come up with a choice: a Tacoma pickup 2000+ model my vehicle will probably be used on easy to moderate trails nothing too killer
thank you for your help.

datrupr

Expedition Leader
Alpinestar, welcome! There is no hashing or harrassing the newbies on this board so you can take a little solice in that fact. Several of us here are fairly new to off road driving and expedition travel, and some of us are veterans. everybody is always eager to help. I do not own a Taco, but it seems most people here do, I am a minority, but still welcomed. :D

To answer your question, the Tacoma is an excellent platform to begin with. It already has good clearance and is very capable off road in stock form. I would start with a set of decent LT rated tires, then get some body protection i.e. sliders, skid plates, etc. then you may want to consider a lift of around 2". You don't really need any more than that if you do not plan on doing any rock crawling. Also, I would highly reccommend a navigation system, i.e. GPS and some good topo maps of the areas that you plan on exploring. recovery points both front and rear, recovery gear, fire extinguisher, flash light, a system to keep them secured in the vehicle, and to go out and enjoy yourself in your new interest/hobby/passion. If you ever have any questions please feel free to post up and you will get your answers.

Alpinestar