Anyone using APRS?

adventureduo

Dave Druck [KI6LBB]
We would like to setup APRS in our rig in case something happened to us .. our family/friends will know where we are.

Went to the ham radio outlet today to see what they could do for me my setup (Yaesu 2800m and Baja540c)... and it appeared it was going to be about $300 to do what i wanted. I would need to get a complete kit that included a GPS antenna because they couldn't figure out how to setup a cable for my GPS.

Does anyone know of a way to connect a Ham transmitter to a Lowrance unit? I have the big marine plugs on the back.

Anyone use Byonics stuff? Tinkpak?

Any insight on this project would be greatly appreciated. Im just learning about it.. today is day 1 for me.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
Wouldn't a Kantronics MT1200G do what you need? That's probably the $300 option you mentioned, right? Otherwise you could use any TNC, but then you need a laptop and that interfaces the GPS to the TNC. I thought the MT1200G did all the GPS interfacing to the radio.

adventureduo

Dave Druck [KI6LBB]
yep thats the unit they wanted me to buy... $276 bucks with it's own antenna. They didnt have one at the store.. 1 left in San Diego store in the USA. I dont know i didn't think it was gonna be that much $$.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
SOCALFJ said:
yep thats the unit they wanted me to buy... $276 bucks with it's own antenna. They didnt have one at the store.. 1 left in San Diego store in the USA. I dont know i didn't think it was gonna be that much $$.
If you have the GPS->laptop part handled, then just a regular old TNC would be less, probably about $200 or so. This is the part that packetizes the data from the laptop for transmission on the radio. It basically plugs into mic plug and speaker output for the RX/TX. The Kantronics unit looked cool because it integrated a GPS chipset into the box.

adventureduo

Dave Druck [KI6LBB]