Patient Assessment Guide

SOFME

Observer
Hello all. After reading through some of the threads in the medicine and SAR sections I felt a few stickies should be made. Here is my attempt at it. I will be writing based off my personnel knowledge and experience. However if anyone has genuine concerns I can reference/cite. That being said I am a military medic by trade. I spent 6 years in “dirt med” but now currently operate as a Flight Medic.

I want to make it clear from the get go, and with frequent reminders; what I will attempt to teach is: A WAY, NOT THE WAY. Most of us reading this are medical professionals of varying degree. So I will attempt to keep the teaching at reasonable level. As the thread develops feel free to ask questions, elaborations, make corrections, and add any knowledge you feel is relevant. Please keep the fluff to a minimum.
:coffeedrink:

To start I feel we need to talk patient treatment priorities. As we all know it is the “practice” of medicine. Things change frequently. A few years ago the standard was A-B-C (-D-E); Airway - Breathing - Circulation
(-Deformity - Exposure). This philosophy works fine. But there are major (needed) changes starting to surface in civilian medical teaching, specifically in Pre-Hospital Care. Ask any battlefield medic and they will tell you “rapid blood sweep then ABC”. This is largely due to the types of injuries we frequently see. Ask a civilian paramedic and the conversation may get interesting. But, civilian medicine is changing. PHTLS/ATLS teaches providers to stop life threatening bleeds first, the new NREMT (per AAOS) has disbanded the “pressure points” step in bleeding control algorithm, and the American Heart Association has now instituted “CAB” CPR.