How difficult/expensive is it to hand load my own ammunition?

ssssnake529

Explorer
I've been shooting for many years, but I've never done any loading of my own ammunition.

However, I've purchased a rifle in 338 Norma Magnum, and the ammunition is really expensive. ($120 for a box of 20)

I'm considering loading my own ammunition.

What kind of investment can I expect to have to make in equipment?

How steep is the learning curve?

Will I be able to get results that are equal to or better than match grade factory ammo? (If I can't expect to attain consistent, high quality results, it's not worth it for me.)

Will I save lots of money loading my own?

762X39

Explorer
I reload with a 20 year old single stage RCBS press, powder measure, Dillon scale and RCBS dies. The setup cost me under $300 all in (including all the bits and bobs you need or want) and I don't regret it a bit. I got into it because I could but really enjoy reloading for my King Cobra and occasionally for my 6.5 Swede. A good reloading book (I have Noslers, Sierras and 3 others for reference) is a must. Knowing someone that reloads is helpful but I figured it out on my own by going slow and checking everything twice. It is cheaper in the long run and reloading allows you to tailor your loads to your needs. Yes you can load to match grade if you are fussy enough and many do so. Good luck and have fun if you get into it.:coffee:

zimm

Expedition Leader
buy the dies and get a cheap kit press setup, if all you are gonna do is a round like that.

1. even if you only break even with the quantity you load, at least you are paying yourself. since i bought my 9.3x62, ive shot about 6 rds a year, to keep it sighted.
2. you get a little more understanding of the tools operation.