WreckDiver1321's 2003 Frontier CC SC

wreckdiver1321

Overlander
Hey there folks, just got my new expedition rig - an '03 Frontier supercharged. Crew cab short box, auto, 107k on the clock. It is replacing a much loved but little trusted Land Rover Discovery II. This will be a sort of "slow burn" build. I'm a college student, so money is a bit tight, but things will definitely be rolling.

Things will be tackled in a sort of random order, but here are the basics:

Topper
Yakima roof basket
3" lift
265/75R16 Wrangler DuraTracs
Full armor
Custom rear bumper with swing-away tire/jerry can
Lights
ARB rear diff
Drawers
CVT tent
Engel fridge

And other stuff I'm sure I'm forgetting. Stay tuned! :)

wreckdiver1321

Overlander
The Why

A lot of people have asked me recently why I chose the Frontier. Well, it's pretty simple. I started building a 2001 LR Disco II a few years ago and fell in love with the thing, but constant repairs and large repair bills had me hurting bad. Eventually, I grew to distrust the Disco and, despite my love for it, sold it. I quickly decided I wanted a Frontier as a reliable replacement to the Discovery. A lot of people have asked me, "If you wanted something reliable and capable, why didn't you get a Tacoma?" I could say it was due to the stronger frame, the (I think) better looking exterior, the shorter wheelbase, the overall beefyness of the vehicle, and all that, but I'd be lying. To be honest, I wanted a Frontier because it's nobody's first choice. Comparatively speaking, it's unique. And I like the idea of having something you don't see all the time. Add to that it's a fairly cheap vehicle to buy and to operate/maintain/repair, it's sold all over the world (I plan on taking it internationally at some point), and a pretty good aftermarket, and you have the recipe for a pretty good expedition vehicle. I'm hoping this truck will be just about everything I had hoped the Land Rover would be. It's looking good so far! :D

roninjiro

Explorer