Ram 2500 vs Tacoma Crew Cab.....on a fence

FPMLLC

Hey guys, long time reader, first time poster. So I AM NOT AN EXPEDITION nut yet, I love the idea of it, but wife is just getting used to camping, daughter loves it, me I've been in the woods since i was a kid.

My truck is running ok, but it's going to be needing a replacement soon enough. So I am torn between these two rigs, and will list pro's and con's.

Keep in mind we plan on having a second child sooner then later, and more importantly for work I am a General contractor. I usually don't load the bed down, I will have big things delivered, but at least once a week I work the bed, and often pull my 5k tool trailer, and a car carrier.
the tacoma WILL do that, but just hate making a smaller truck do that weekly, and it does put a lot on stress on a taco.

Now, I am bias towards the Taco, I've had them. They last forever, they are fun to drive and great trucks. They are cheap to maintain, but they are smaller, weaker, and lack a lot of space inside.

The ram diesel, will last just as long albeit with higher maintance and ownership costs. But has a ton of interior space, can load the bed down and has NO issues pulling what ever I need it to.

that being said I dont want to get the taco, then have to go out and buy a box truck to replace the trailer and tools (a potential plan)

I also don't want to buy the taco and wish i had the ram or vice versa....so thoughts, opinions, ideas.

I will be taking a trip to WY from NY next fall, camping the entire way...mostly back roads but getting her feet wet.

thanks guys in advance!

redthies

Renaissance Redneck
First off, welcome to ExPo!