Pink Panther Build

bee

Observer
IMG_20130526_215743_1.jpg

I have been toying with building a camper for 3 years ever since I lived out of a pickup shell while traveling the Canadian Rockies. The Goal is to have a True 4 season, 4 wheel drive vehicle that is refined enough to be able to live in full time if inclined.

My construction methods are based off of PODs build. Foamular 600 and 12oz fiberglass will be making up the box. The box will be removable from a custom flatbed mounted on a pickup. Water and batteries will be mounted to the truck to keep weight low and increase usable room inside the box.

Exterior dimensions: 10ft long x 7ft 3" wide
Concept 1.jpgConcept 2.jpg

Last edited:

bee

Observer
I forgot to mention. I am a DIYer, My fiberglassing experience is virtually zero but I figure I will be an expert after this build. I hope to use this thread to document my build for myself to look back on as well as for others who might want to get a feel for what it takes.

If you have some ideas feel free to share, in fact I already have a few questions. The camper will have a toy hauler style rear door and a side door. Does anyone have some good weatherstripping sources? What kind of weather stripping would you recommend? Can anyone recommend a good quality door latch?

I am going to try to include a picture with every one of my posts. I will add a couple here to make up for later on when I am to lazy. I will also try to include rough pricing as I go along.

Here is a pallet of 3" thick foamular special ordered from Menards, and yes you have to buy it in pallet increments. Cost $1300

The truck in the photo is a 3/4 ton diesel farm truck I picked up cheap. If I don't find something nicer then it will be the chassis for the build.
Cost $4000 after necessary repairs.
*note just because the cummins diesel can go 500,000 miles doesn't mean the rest of the truck can. With 184,000 the rest of the truck was/is falling part.....

IMG_20111015_171800.jpg