Started my trialer build today.

awol

Observer
So I have always been into Jeeps and camping such. In the last 2 years I have found myself really wanting an expo style trailer that can follow me wherever I go. I have been eyeballing AT's stuff for a couple years but just can't justify the cost to myself. I have decided to build my own trailer from scratch. If everything goes well I have thought about offering it as a kit for DIY people but that's a topic for another thread...

I have been drawing ideas and recently started messing around with SolidWorks and things are starting to come together. I have come up with a base frame and sent it out to a guy I know through my job who owns a steel working business to quote me all the pieces cut for the frame as well as all the side panels and such for the boxes. I explained my ideas to him and in a shocking move he told me to send up my drawings and cut sheets and he would send me down the parts for my first build at no cost... I was shocked. I still am shocked!! So parts have been showing up at work for the last week and I have been moving them to a shop where a good friend of mine is starting a business. Today after him and I got some wiring ran and the welders hooked up I decided to start tacking the frame together.

photo 2.jpg
My simple frame drawing from SolidWorks.

photo 3.jpg
My materials and the frame starting to get tacked together.

photo 1.jpg
Made sure everything is nice and square. It helps having a good flat steel table to work off of.

photo 1-1.jpg
Ignore my glove in the bottom corner. LOL.

Once I had the main section of the frame all tacked I was ready to start tacking in the sections that would be in front and behind the wheel well but then realized that we didn't have any good grinding disks or a good cutoff wheel to cut the tacks I had holding the frame to the table.... Guess that is the draw back to working in a building that we just moved into last week. Not all of our tools and boxes are there yet.