Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Basic Tool List

Default Basic Tool List

we have a VERY detailed list for recovery, another for survival, was thinking maybe we should have a basic tool/parts list to take with us. Now with all this gear listed in these lists if you took it all, on each outing it would probably leave no room for a driver of the vehicle. These lists even with the repeat items are good checklists, or eye openers at the least. I think alot of people just jump in a 4x4 not understanding or even considering some of these things. The great part about this is if it helps only one person it has done its job! Now I am a newbie here, but I see the member list steadily growing...maybe this may help countless people. The powers that be may include a sticky for recovery..tools...equip..gear a basic offroader may want to invest in, not only financially but with the time to learn how to use these items functionally. I think this site is already an excellent resource, and I think it will only get better! Anyhow the basic tool list should include?

screwwdriver
    wire strippers
    voltage tester

OK chime in....

Dude... The first item on every gear, tool, recovery, disaster, anti-terror - even first aid kit - list is always duct tape!
    2006 Toyota Tacoma

JB weld.

First, the "get me through it" list:

Duct tape
    Baling wire
    Friction tape
    Stop-Leak
    Two mtn bike inner tubes
    JB Weld
    Two-part expoxy
    Electrical tape
    Loctite
    Extra hose clamps
    Extra electrical wire
    Coffee can full of assorted extra hardware (nuts, bolts, screws)
    Tire patch kit (includes large vulcanizing patches)

The above list is not negotiable and -in a pinch-, can really save you from disaster. Ideally, one would never get to the point to have to use any of the above for a proper field repair, but the reality is that expeditions rarely go exactly as planned....*this* is my basic tool kit. More on actual hand tools later!