-1973 K5 - Project Canyonero

edlaffoon

Adventure Every Day
I guess it's time for me to do one of these "here's my truck" threads over here on Expo as this is where I spend most of my time these days.

Most of this this will be copies of what some of you may have seen on other sites so I apologize for any repeats:

My name is Eric. I live in a Ft. Worth TX suburb with my beautiful wife Missy and baby girl Layla (and we just found out another baby girl on the way) (*EDIT* We actually have three kids now, Layla, Emmylou and William. This thread has been here a while I guess lol). I'm a hobby mechanic. I've been workin on cars and the ocassional truck for most of my life. My dad and grandpa ran the only real full service auto shop in Yukon OK for about 25 years up until 1994. I grew up there. I would work with my dad all day and then crash on a creeper with a fender cover until he was done after dark. I learned more than just workin on cars there, I learned how to learn. I know that sounds corny but it's true, my fondest and most emotional memories go back to that place.

The K5 story...

This whole thing got started when I was a kid, about 6 years old. This fella lived behind us where I grew up and he had what (to a 6 year old boy) had to be the coolest vehicle anyone could ever own, an 1986 CUCV (M1009).

From a young age I fell hard for the K5. For a long time I saved and pined for one until I got to the point where I could get one April of 2009. I'd been keeping my eye on K5's for sale weekly since about 2005. I came across what I thought was the perfect truck in Paso Robles California. I bought it and a few weeks later it was here in Texas.

IMG_0353.jpg

IMG_0355.jpg

IMG_0357.jpg

This was a very exciting moment for me. I had to sell my '84 Rabbit GTI to make room for the truck, but it was the right move in the end.

IMG_0368.jpg