Land Rover Dealers

cshontz

Supporting Sponsor
Are Land Rover dealers typically bustling hubs for overlanding enthusiasts, or are they normal car dealers under a glamorous, expeditionary facade?

Scott Brady

Founder
cshontz said:
Are Land Rover dealers typically bustling hubs for overlanding enthusiasts, or are they normal car dealers under a glamorous, expeditionary facade?

It depends on the dealership, from my experience. Several specialize in used defenders and kitted trucks, some specialize is Range Rovers with big wheels and ground effects.

The great thing about the Rover dealerships is that they conduct "wheels" events at least four times per year. Wheels events are dealer led trails runs, and are really a good time.

Land Rover also sponsors drivers training days. I have been an instructor for several of those in the AZ area.

TeriAnn

Explorer
cshontz said:

My take is that they are in the business of selling new vehicles using the methods and materials sent down from Land Rover North America. Each dealer has their own personal spin and a certain amount of leeway for localization but they follow the party line as they are told to do by their management and follow the marketing instructions that they are provided with.

Its what all good employees who like the idea of keeping a roof over their head do. BMW management then Ford Management wanted to sell high profit luxury SUVs. Most could care less about overlanding enthusiasts unless said enthusiast wanted to plunk $$$ down for a new fully equipped Range Rover Sport. Their primary focus is well to do folks regardless of any pursuits they might have.

I suspect Tata might take a wider market approach and expand the range available in the US to include Defenders or Defender like vehicle, but only time will tell. If they do then the dealers will be enthusiastic about overlanding enthusiasts who have money to buy new vehicles for overlanding.