A newb with some questions for all you travelling mogers out there

ZebFreeman

Greetings,

I should start off by saying I'm still a ways away from buying my basecamp vehicle, the 416 is my prime target but I have a few questions which I'm hoping might help me make a decision. My situation is as follows; I am a welder who in a years time or so should be Red Seal certified, currently living in Newfoundland working, saving and putting hours toward my apprenticeship. As you may or may not know Canada is full of opportunities for welders from coast to coast, a lot of it is a few weeks here and a couple months there, contract work and etc. I like moving around and packing light. What I'm dreaming of right now is setting up a vehicle with the basics which will give me a place to live and work out of, freeing me up to move easily, without hassle or great costs. While also giving me the ability, and time off, to explore the backwoods and cities and all the things a person with time and mobility would want to explore. It's important to me that the vehicle is all road capable, dependable, maneuverable and I would rather avoid having to modify the running gear.

I have a few ideas for what vehicles would work well for this, the Unimog 416 comes out on top, next is a Fuso FG, then an F250 with the 6.0L TD.

I realize these vehicle are in separate classes, in all likelihood the FG would do almost everything I would want to do with it, but they have no lockers, require aftermarket wheels and cost nearly the same or more than a Mog. The Fords are cheap, but would offer less space and less maneuverability.