How wide can you go?

Capo

Happy Camper
Hello!

I am new here and I guess I should have looked for this forum much earlier. As an introduction, I own a stock G55 and an expedition modified G400. I have not modified the G400 myself apart from minor works on the interior custom made structure. Two different European workshops have modified the car in accordance with my personal amateur needs.

Please let me bother you with a few questions. I have 30mm spacers with MB 16' standard wheels and standard tyre dimensions (All Terrains 265). The car is heightened ca 80mm and has an aluminium roof rack with a Hannibal large tent and some stuff. Total roof rack weight ca +160kg. Total car weight when loaded for long trips 3.400kg.

I'm considering a little more width and/or minimising the roof rack.
Are there wider spacers?
Or do I go for deep dish wheels with wider tyres?
Will the axles take the strain from additional width?

How would you go about?

I am a happy amateur. I've taken some off-road classes in Scotland and learning by just happily driving the G400 everywhere when fishing and hunting. I've broken things along the way, fixing with improvements, long slow learning curve etc. it's a great car and it has done me well in all climates.

Thanks!

Capo

Last edited:

Capo

Happy Camper
After the suspension lift and reinforcement

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    532.1 KB · Views: 127

DUTCH

Curmudgeon
The wider you go, the more strain you will put on the wheel bearings; and the sooner they will fail. Also, you'll reach a point where your vehicle's track will be wider that the trail tracks.

You should go to the pointedthree.com G-Class Forum and talk to Loki from Iceland. He has many suggestions regarding wheels, etc.

Capo

Happy Camper
Thanks a million!

Lowering by 20mm and getting rid of the tent is likely also great for handling.

Capo

Happy Camper
Continuation From Other Thread

Continued from other thread in order not to impolitely hijack that thread: