Utility Body Trailer - Post Build Tour

loren85022

Explorer
I regained my ExPo/overland itch in 2010. Prior I thought of it all as off-roading and camping. But its all the same to me. I went to school on this forum absorbing everything possible about trailer builds and vans.
Expo-trailer-6730.jpg

And so shame on me for not adding a trailer build when I finally started mine. So herein lies a recap. Let me preface this by saying I’m by no means an expert. Nor do I consider my work to be pro quality. I’m not building for the Rubicon or Dekar. My goal was/is to build a trailer that I (and hopefully my family) enjoy and to have fun designing and building it. It’s built for 2-7 night trips in the southwest. My 4wd van has limits and the trailer is built to get in and out of similar environments. Its always work in progress, but thus far, it’s serving its purpose.

Build or buy? I get asked all the time how much did it cost to build? I probably purposely dont know but its inching towards $10,000. And so I’d say to anyone who doesnt love tinkering and making trips to Home Depot, steel yard, etc, buy one and enjoy. You probably arent saving 75% by building your own as many think. That's just my opinion. Other’s may vary.

Utility Body

I roam the planet in a wheelchair. So I knew I wanted side boxes for maximum equipment access. I drew up my idea in Sketchit and found the side boxes tough to acquire. Prefab boxes didnt fit. Custom boxes were priced too high. My design took a pivot when I realized it looked just like a service or utility bed.

Craigslist was the answer. I knew i wanted it to not be from a fullsize truck and I really liked the looks and reduced weight of fiberglass. In hindsight I was lucky to almost immediately find a 30 yrs old fiberglass body off of a minitruck for sale. It was lag bolted to an old fishing boat trailer and half covered in weeds. The body measures appx 90x60”. We haggled to $400 and I lashed it to a flatbed for the ride home.