Where to go for some skills education

mkitchen

Explorer
What sources are out there for gaining skills for DS style riding? I have a road bike and am very comfortable making long trips on it but am looking to be able to tour on back country roads as well. Are the some recommended books, YouTube, DVD's or even a course that would get me going in the right direction. Note, I have been mountianbiking for many years, though I stopped doing that about eight years ago, but those skills are still there.

I would just hate to invest in another bike and not do well on it. I know that a fellow should buy something smaller and start there but I really don't want to buy a bike, then move up to a bigger bike later. For one thing, my funds don't allow the additional purchases and I think that I would rather learn on the heavy bike that I want to end up with. I did this with my road bike. I took the MSF class and a year later, bought a fullsize bagger and rode it 200 miles home with no on road training. I believe that my many years of bicycling has been a help there.

I am thinking of the BMW GSA 1200 for me and a BMW F700 GS for my wife. Her's would be with the dropped frame and low seat. As retirement draws near, I look forward to the time when we can make some long trips on the two bikes. So, any suggestions/recommendations?
Mikey

Last edited:

Cody1771

Explorer