Family of 4 from Belize to NC the long way...

Rovertrader

Supporting Sponsor
Hello all- my family and I are headed to Belize in April, and plan to drive back home to NC. I have done this trip once with my brother about 5 years ago, and once about 20 years ago via motorcycle- down and back!! This time, the whole clan is going- wife and me of course, but also our 7 & 9 yo! First off a couple days at the coast in Belize. Then we are headed to a small mountain village just outside Antigua, Guatemala to volunteer at a malnutrition center for children. And then drive north through Mexico, and back to the States. My wife and I have travelled similar trips all over Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, etc, but this is our first go at such a trip with the kids.

Being an engineer, I am not much on lengthy descriptions and expletives, but will try to keep this current. Travel will be via Defender, and we are in the process of getting Passports for the kids. Departure date is 14 April, spend a few days at the coast, then be at the center the 18-21, arriving home by 25 April.

I might add, this trip is two fold- one for the adventure, and second, to lend a hand at the center. Should anyone have interest in donating to the center- not to our efforts/travel, I can post up a link. Thanks for any and all interest in the kids served by the center.

In fact, here is the info: http://orphansheart.org/countries-we-serve/guatemala
Feel free to contact me with any questions, and thanks for looking!!

goodwaves

Adventurer
are you flying in?
Did you ship the defender ahead of time? Just curious.
Would be interested to know your route back through Mexico.
sounds like a fun trip and awesome opportunity to give your children a very valuable learning experience.
Safe travels to you all.

Rovertrader

Supporting Sponsor
Yes, flying in, and the truck is there and waiting.