29er wheelset question

mtnbike28

Expedition Leader
I am looking for a 29er wheelset for racing, I want to switch between my CX and XC bike. I am looking used. I have found: 2013 Crank Bros Colbalt 3 for $450, Stans Arch EX w/ XT hubs brand new for $450, Stans Arch EX with Stans hub? for $420 and Easton EC70 brand new for $280 . I weigh 210 pounds and wondered if anyone has experience with any of these wheels. I am currently riding XT hubs with Mavic TN217 that weight ~2200g - so all these would save me at least 300g.

Plannerman

Wandering Explorer
I can only speak to the XT hubs. I've been riding various iterations for twenty years with great luck.

Sent via fat thumb

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck
I have a Stan's wheelset built with 3.30 hubs and ZTR Arch EX hubs. I don't recommend them. Spend the extra money on XT hubs, the hubs are not well made. As far as the rims, they work OK and hold true enough. I have about a 50% success rate getting tires to seal without tons of sealant, but I usually don't use true tubeless tires so I don't hold the rims at fault. They almost always hold the bead tight, just not a seal. One thing I do very much dislike about the rims is they are picky about the stems you use, I can only use Stan's stems.

p nut

butter
I have no experience with Cobalt wheels, but visually speaking, they're not my cup o'tea with the funky spokes.

Old Stan's hubs were decent, I believe. Not sure on the current models. XT's have always been good. Not extremely light, but durable and servicable. I'd go XT and Stans rims. Or you can look around and get a set of CK, i9, DT240's used for $4-500. That's the way I'd go, personally. I have a set of DT240/Crests, but the weight limit is 190, I believe, so not going to work for you.

DaveInDenver

Middle Income Semi-Redneck