Lavarunner Build Thread

_Aaron_

Observer
Hello Expo folks!

I'm new to trucks, but not new to being offroad (lotsa mountain bikes, 1150gs with 107,000 miles). Super stoked! Previous rigs include a '93 Eurovan Weekender that we took a lot of places where we shouldn't have. Can't believe that thing made it through some of the terrain we threw at it.

Our new 4Runner TEP has about 400 miles on the clock. Time to start the build!

Goals/ideas for the build include:
- augment the vehicle so we can be comfortable for extended off road romps around Cascadia...and beyond.
- don't sacrifice reliability with any mod. simple = good.
- keep the body intact. no fender cutting or body mount chopping for now.
- no big loads on the roof
- have fun and get rad

Stock
before.jpg

Icon Stage 1+, MetalTech sliders
after.jpg

sliders.jpg

Work done by MetalTech. I didn't get to take the truck in, but the report from the missus was 100% positive.

Next up:
- Cooper Discoverer 275/70/17
- Frontrunner Slimline II

Last edited:

_Aaron_

Observer
Update No. 2

Tires and rack installed
racktable.jpg

Looking pretty good! Rack install was overall very straightforward and appears to be great quality. The latch system for storing the table is neat.

latch.jpg

Some pics of our chuck box in a SKB case.
camp1.jpg

camp2.jpg

camp3.jpg

We have a lot of thinking to do about organization in the rig, but two of these cases fit perfectly across the back.

Colonal Angus

Adventurer
I can...looks great! I really like the skb chuckbox. Where did you source those, of you don't mind me asking and what size? How do you like the Icon setup?

fowldarr

Explorer
very nice looking. My in-laws are picking up a brand new 4runner later this month or early april. I'm very excited as they are going through a dealer local to me, and I will get the opportunity to deliver it to them in Idaho. A short but fun road trip, especially on someone else's dime.

_Aaron_

Observer