M35A2 Camper Build Questions

ammoman

Hi! Just a couple weeks ago I purchased a 1966 AMG M35A2 (Deuce and a half) to take me on may new adventures! Right now it has the troop carrier seats in the back with a canvas top. While this will be fine for short trips without the family, I need something I can stand up in with more protection. Because every now and then I might use it as a truck (never know when you might need a 8' x 12' bed!), I don't want to remove the bed. Instead I've decided to build a camper that can mount on top of the bed!

After lots of reading here and knowing how bad the Deuce vibrates, I decided to build a steel tube frame for the camper. Attached are my initial drawings for the shell. Since I'm not an engineer, my two biggest concerns are overall rigidity and the safety of the over-cab beds. (it extends 42" out past the main shell)

How does my plan look? Anything I need to modify?

Here is my new ride: (I installed the muffler before the 300 mile drive home so it wasn't too loud)
IMG_6114.jpg

And here are my new camper drawings. NOTE - the blue tubes are going to be 1" x 2" 11 gauge steel tubes and the brown ones are 1" x 1" 14 gauge steel tubes.

Screen Shot 2014-03-16 at 3.34.14 PM.jpg

Screen Shot 2014-03-16 at 3.34.39 PM.jpg

Screen Shot 2014-03-16 at 3.35.18 PM.jpg

If you noticed, in the back there is a big opening - I'm planning on having two great big double doors so i can open both to load up an ATV or motorcycle if needed.

Last edited:

bajajoaquin

Adventurer