Best stove to buy?

JoJo1

Hiya!

I am in need of a stove, I do quite a bit of mountain walking, doing my ML in June - so it needs to be light and compact ideally

I'm considering jet boil, but are they overrated?

I've been recommended pocket rockets, but others have said they tip over easily..

I'm a student so can't be having more than one for different occasions but equally my loan comes in soon :victory: so I could stretch to something more-costly like a jetboil if they are worth it...?

Any advice on stoves would be gratefully received!

Thanks! Jo

I love the pocket rocket . Lots of miles used. I think the wind is really the only down fall with these stoves, although a wind screen helps.
You can always use the universal cannister base which helps a lot.
image.jpg
Az

TenaciousTJ

Explorer
Agreed on the MSR Dragonfly, it's a great stove with the ability to burn all kinds of fuels, and the flame is adjustable down to a simmer. It just so happens I'm selling a MSR Dragonfly stove with the large fuel bottle and new expedition service kit (not pictured). It's posted in the for sale section here on expo if you're interested. Even if you're not, the MSR Dragonfly is an awesome piece of gear.

qa3eha5y.jpg

I have an MSR Dragonfly and yes it burns 3-4 types of fuel. It's light weight, and has that wonderful throttle feature to increase or decrease the flame level which makes a difference at higher altitudes. Also comes with a foldable aluminum wind screen carry bag, and repair kit, although mine has never failed. Highly recommended. Average price is around $129. At most camping outlets. Prolly cheaper at amazon.