Lr3 glass roof?

cannonball55

Adventurer
I'm curious about the lr3's glass roof. Is it structural? Or could it be replaced by something lighter weight?
Im aware of the commercial bodies in other parts of the world and if I remember they're made of aluminum, and replace all the rear body glass.

Reason I ask is: I regularly see poptops on jeeps and vans and other vehicles. I was thinking that a poptop accessible from the inside wouldn't be TERRIBLY difficult if the glass roof was removed and replaced. And depending on how it was executed could be removable should the vehicle be reverted to stock for sale.

Thoughts? Opinions?

A little background so everyone isn't telling me to run away. I'm a composite engineer and have been building with composite materials (carbon fiber, Kevlar, fiberglass etc...) for 10 years. While mainly for the aerospace industry (think uav's) this skill is widely transferable among industries and *could be used for a project of this nature. Also have extensive sheet metal experience though limited welding experience.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

unseenone

Explorer
If you were going to consider this, you might want to factor in the rear side windows into the plan. Otherwise it seems like you would be riding in a can, and there wouldn't be much benefit. The roof glass comes out as a unit, including the sun roofs, which are integrated. There is a metal roof option for these, though rarely seen, I have seen one here in the US before. Perhaps it might be worth checking around salvage yards, for a used metal roof as a starting point.

The other considerations would be the headliner, and wiring integrated in it.

Keep us posted..

View attachment Description adn Operation.pdf

Mack73

Adventurer
What about removing the front sunroof? Million times easier and the opening is large enough to get through... but yeah not ideal.

JAK

JAK:JeremySnow