tablet programs & tablets vs gps units

I have a fair amount of experience with gps units lowrance garmin older soni and others I have no experience with tablets and programs I was on google earth finding all these really cool places to go. and fun offroad ways to get there. So my questions are with Tablets what do you have to do to make them act like a gps and what programs/apps are used. When you do this then can you use google earth as a base map and track real time progress on the base map. But because google earth sort of flattens things is there also a program or app that you can either over topo or toggle back and forth between the topo and the airp hoto of google earth? can some one sort of give me and lots of other folks here a primer on how the whole tablet nav thing works? or post a link?
Like do you have to have cell coverage?
if not do you need a satellite antenna or whatever that thingy would be called?
Are you paying data rates?
what are the pos and cons of tablet travel vs dedicated gps travel?
Can I somehow transfer the cool trails i made on google earth to a gps unit or a tablet unit?

98OzarksRunner

Adventurer
If you have an Android tablet (pretty much anything but an iPad), there's a lot of good info here:

http://www.expeditionportal.com/forum/threads/61195-Best-Android-Overlanding-software

For using most mapping software (like Backcountry Navigator, which I use), you don't need data service. You can cache the maps before you go (onto your data card or internal memory). Most of the tablets have good GPS built in, and don't need an external antenna (I have a Samsung Tab 2 10.1, and it works great). You can download FREE maps from from USGS or USFS (with the Backcountry Navigator app). I don't know about satellite maps; I just use topo maps. With the USFS topo maps, resolution is down to about 50', and very accurate (the GPS, not the maps - most are terribly out of date and the roads don't go where they say). Backcountry Navigator is $10.