Wavephf's American Hilux build thread

Wavephf

Observer
This project started years ago and I don't remember all that has been done or how certain thing were modified but I will post what I can remember. This is just my story of my truck so please keep negative and useless comments to yourself. I'm not a engineer or body man. I did things when I could and how ever I could.

It all started in late 2009 when my Dad and myself found a 1990 Toyota 4Runner on Craigslist for $1000 with a rod knock. We drove up to Denver (2 hours away) with truck and trailer to look at it. When we got there the owner told us someone else just looked at it and revved the engine and now its locked up. Upon inspection we noticed a hole in the block. Now that the engine is no longer build-able we negotiated the price down to $600 or $700 I can't remember for sure. Drove home with the 4runner loaded on the trailer and parked it until I could find a engine. I'm a mechanic and work at my Dad's shop so do all my own work. In January 2010 we had a customer forget to tighten the oil filter on his Tacoma when he changed his own oil and his 3.4 was knocking. He supplied us with a used engine and I ended up with core. I did some research and found a thread on Yotatech explaining the 5vzfe swap. Now it was time to start working on my project.

I pulled the 3vze(3.slow) out of the 4Runner.

And started the rebuild on the 5vzfe(3.4). One rod bearing spun and the crankshaft was junk. I ordered a new crankshaft and rebuild kit. I rebuilt the engine and swap the needed parts off the old motor.

I got the 3.4 installed and running