Overland Vehicle Notes

penguincoder

Observer
Hi everyone, I am a bit new to this kind of outdoorsing, so i would like to throw out my notes on an overland vehicle here. I don't fully expect anyone to have anything useful to add, but I will appreciate any feedback from the local membership. I have owned a 4x4 before: it was a 1982 Jeep CJ7. As an experience, it was amazing. As a vehicle, it was total crap. I hate smelling like exhaust and gasoline, I hate removing the entire front hubs to replace rotors, the five speed (while better than most) sucked, the engine ran at 19 oil PSI and could barely get out of its own way up a hill... And it didn't need the keys to run. Lovely. So in true I-just-had-a-baby-and-I-need-to-sell-my-hobbies, I sold the Jeep. It's worth mentioning that I kept my MK4 Mini. Apparently that was the "good idea" at the time.

I am not going into the offroad community blind, rather, I have had many experiences using quads and the Jeep in question. I think I enjoyed it more so than any of my close friends and now I have an opportunity to jump back in full-force and I would like to take it.

I know what it's like to work on a car, even fruitlessly. I am moving up in the world. I like the idea of a luxurious offroader. Ever since my friends brought a Canadian AWD Ford Aerostar and we all lavished in the relative luxury while taming the same trails as the Jeep, I realized that offroading can be more sophisticated than gasoline exhause. And nicer to us old fogey dads.

I am going to buy a capable offroader for my next vehicle. I have a list of researched vehicles that I am considering... and a list of vehicles that are already off the list. I am a software developer by trade, and computers do not intimidate me in the least. I can pry them apart and gut the insides and put them all back together afterwards... And I have never worked myself into a corner I couldn't get out of later. I embrace computerization and prefer it.

My musts: