Any decent priced light weight winches out there? how about using a 6k winch?

stioc

Expedition Leader
OK so I've been offroading for a few years now and have never needed a winch and probably won't in the future either. While the Warn 8ks are nice it'll just be a dead weight on my bumper 99.9% of the time. I'm thinking more along the lines of Engo and Superwinch type of winches but my next challenge is finding the lightest model out there- beyond the synthetic line savings. I had this crazy idea of finding a 6k rated winch since my truck weighs 6k fully loaded. Chances are it'll never need to be dead pulled or hung like a slaughtered pig so long as the line pull rating is 6k I should be OK right? not to mention using a pulley block I can double the capacity if needed. Difference in weight? 35-ish lbs vs. 75lbs and cost? even better. Only problem is I haven't actually found a 6k winch yet, only a 5k ATV winch at HF (33lbs).

I know most people will scream blasphemy but thought I'd ask anyway and perhaps get some ideas on any other winches that might be lighter?

unseenone

Explorer
I doubt anyone is going to endorse that. Keep in mind how winches are rated. Pulling on a flat dry surface. Stick a 6k vehicle like mine to the body in the much and it could take a LOT more to pull it out. That's why winch lines are often rated for 21,000lbs or more for a 9k winch.

Yes, you could improve your odds with snatch blocks.

I would note I pulled a jeep out with no snatch blocks and it was all the Warn 9500 I have could do to get it out. Only because I didn't have any snatch blocks with me at the time.
You are not going to notice the extra weight, and I doubt it will make a difference in MPG, mine did not.

The TJM 9000 stealth winch weights 70lbs.

I think the warns are a bit beefier, at around 100lbs for a 9500 approx. Probably for a reason.. You'll cut some weight with good synthetic, think http://www.masterpull.com/ line and a decent fairlead.