Attempted Moon Photography

First off let me say that I am completely new to photography, and everything I've learned I've learned from Google... That being said my wife decided she wanted a new camera, eventually we ended up with a Sony Cyber-shot DSC-HX200V, which has proven to be well above my capability most of the time having previously been just a point and shoot kind of person. As I started to get into what other features the camera had I realized I may be in a bit over my head. The past two nights the moon has been incredible so I figured I would try taking some pictures. The first night I couldn't figure out how to get anything but an over-exposed moon, which did lead to some nice cloud pictures but not good moon pictures. The 2nd night after a bit more research I got a couple of decent ones. Here are the results. Open to suggestions/comments (as long as they aren't get a DSLR.. way out of my price range right now haha)

DSC01302.JPG

DSC01307.JPG

Sabre

Overlanding Nurse
It was so easy in the pre-digital days: just use the sunny 16 rule because a photograph of a full moon is the same as taking a picture on a sunny day! Of course, you can still do that, but you have to make sure you've set the ISO first and it's a bit fiddly for most folks. Of course, the good thing about the modern digital method is that it would be a simple matter to layer a properly-exposed moon onto a long exposure of a nighttime scene.

For more drama (and realism) try to get the tonal values such that darks are darker and lights are lighter, yet both retain detail. You can bracket exposures in camera and also play with the curves in post-processing.

Pathfinder

Adventurer
Start with Manual Mode ( assuming your camera supports this and I see that it does http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sony-cyber-shot-dsc-hx200v/2 ), using the Sunny 16 rule ( http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=30235 ) for a beginning exposure. Use a tripod.