building a pop up camper box from scratch... as always 90% planning 10% doing

Itsavanman

Adventurer
still in the planning stages of a custom pop up camper top, anyhow the plan is to use ISO foam / wood / and fiberglass resin as the structure of it, want to keep it light, but strong enough to not fall apart on the trail from light to moderate abuse. got the structure planned out, however, I'm not sure what size wood I should use for the skeleton of it, something tells me 2x2's would be the best but not sure. the "bones" would be spaced out at 2' intervals on the sides and roof with 1" thick foam filling in the voids and 1 layer of woven roven cloth on both sides. I still think I am over-engineering this, but since this is my first build up, not 100% on that, it also will be removable, so want to keep it as light as i can. anyone care to share from their previous experiences? thanks folks!

Capt Eddie

Adventurer
If you are going to use 2 x 2 for the bones. use 1 1/2 of high density foam in the voids. If I were doing it. I would go ahead and plan on using 2 inches of foam. you will find that 2 inches of foam does have a structural strength to it. Almost no need to additional structure if you could make it out of all foam, then cover with fiberglass. The only place you might need support would be the roof.

ripperj

Explorer
You would need some sort of blocking ( frame) around windows,roof vents, rack mount locations etc. Something for screws to bite into.

Sent from my Z10 using Tapatalk 2

Itsavanman

Adventurer
so as I said I will be using polyisocyanurate foam, as its one of the only inexpensive foams that doesn't melt when standard poly resin is used.. what density would that be considered? and this camper is going to be small, not letting the cat out of the bag just yet ;) but the largest span will be the roof. I planned on laminating 1/2" "boards" to get the 1" thickness so I can go as thick as needed,

Abitibi

Explorer