Through the roof on "The Dirtlab"

My roof doesn't have the usual vents used to run the wire from the roof to the interior. I am going to have to "drill a hole in the roof" to run my wiring. I am trying to figure out how to do this in a waterproof way. Any ideas?
Thanks,
Ed

camper101

Observer
Olddog, I'm no expert on this but I'm getting ready to do the same. It seems that people use something like this, and that's more or less what Four Wheel Campers sells/uses as a solar plug.

AuntieM

Observer
Olddog, I'm no expert on this but I'm getting ready to do the same. It seems that people use something like this, and that's more or less what Four Wheel Campers sells/uses as a solar plug.

I'll check it out. I will be running 500 watts of solar and using #6 wire. It looks like this connector is more for light duty applications.

AuntieM

Observer
What type of mount are you looking at? NMO or what.

It doesn't look like an NMO is what I need. The unit that camper 101 mentioned is the right type but I don't think it will handle the power that I will be running. I will know more tomorrow when I can talk to the vendor.

camper101

Observer
65BAJA - I'm not the OP but I don't need mine to be quick release (I haven't installed yet...). I'd love to see some alternative ways to go through the roof if you have ideas.

Ideally I'd like to do something with a lower profile than the SAE plug sticking straight up.

camper101

Observer
FYI I ran across these and they might do the trick if you don't need quick-release. I'm thinking of either just using this (and nothing else) to go through the roof, or trying to make a tiny junction box and using them to run the wires out of the box.

Something like this perhaps, but maybe without the conduit? Or maybe like this, but not as bombproof (I like how he screws it down in the same way you'd screw down a solar plug though -- I don't know if I trust Silaprene or whatever to hold down a junction box).