Tire Diameter and Width Advice

sgltrk

Observer
Hello,

I'm new to off-roading and I'm building an overland/expedition rig. I have purchased an early Toyota mini-truck 4x4 which is set up to be a rock crawler and currently runs 37" tires so the drive train is beefed up to handle large tires. I need advice on tire diameter that best fits the needs of overland use as that will dictate axle gear ratios among other things. I live in Southern Calif. and will spend most of my time in the Southwestern deserts and mountains. That said I would like to travel other areas as well.

What tire diameter do you consider optimal for overland/expedition driving and why? Also what tire width would you recommend? Is a narrower or wider tire better for my intended use?

Thanks,
Lyle

ADVW/Liam

Adventurer
http://expeditionportal.com/the-10-commandments-of-modifying-an-overland-vehicle/

Keep it simple... overlanding and hardcore rock crawling are pretty different build paths, but there is some overlap. You do want it to be durable, for instance... that said, a ton of unsprung weight can make a bigger difference in a 400+ mile trek over unimproved roads versus a 10 mile trip up a craggy trail.

Great Read! This makes me happy that I did not spend thousands on a 6 inch lift for my Tacoma! I did'nt think it needed to be that high anyway, and who cares about shoving 35 inch tires under a Tacoma? I admit that it looks cool, but it adds a lot of stress on the drive train, and other componets. I'm happy with the ride of the OME suspension upgrade, and 31x10.5 tires. Although I must admit, I would like to have 33x12.5... but that would be the max tire size for me.

be safe
Rick

4x4junkie

Explorer