No buck XJ build

Bobs boot camping

in the 4x4 industry
Howdy all.

Im new to Expedition Portal but old to XJ's. I have a teenager coming up that needs a rig and I want a weekend wheeler. Between a new house and a new baby our budget is less than 0. So i am starting a build thread that is a no or lo $ build. I will be pulling out all the stops for all the little XJ tricks i have picked up over the years. The idea is to build a rig for little money that will be a capable expedition rig but also a dependable daily driver for a teenage girl.

The project starts with a '92 HO XJ for $300 bucks. Blown motor and a wrinkled right front fender. I have some spare XJ/MJ parts to help out. I pieced together a 4.3 stroker kit to replace the motor that had thrown the #1 rod thru the pan. Guy i got if from said " it started making a clicky noise then lost power and stopped running.":Wow1: The Head was salvagable and was a 7120 but the block and crank was junk. Russ at Bishop - Buehl put the kit together and did the machine work. This ups the compression which helps the fuel economy. Russ has a really nice kit. Its .30 over HO pistons with HO rods and 258 heavy crank. The cam is a comp cams custom that moves the power band down and gets you out of the hole nicely. You can still run 87 with out an issue but it does like 91 better. I had these parts left over from a build i was going to do for my '93 XJ before it found a new home.

Now that its running and smogged (the joy of living in california) its time to look at what I really want to be able to do and in what order the build should go.

Suspension