The Noob Trailer build

Forsie

Observer
So I'm new to expo style trailers, but I really love the idea of being able to set up a base-camp, that I dont have to break down if I want to use my rig during the day. I have never really liked the idea of a "camper" and so I have never even looked into or though much about owning one. Not that I know nothing about trailers in general, but camping outfits, yep I'm clueless.

I have also been lurking here for a good long time, gathering intel and ideas. And I gotta say, props to some very ingenious and talented people, I have been greatly inspired. So much so that I decided I would give it a go of my own.

I wanted to build something lightweight, that I can tow with my 4 cylinder Suzuki. It needs to be small and maneuverable, and off road capable, to a point. But Space is a big deal too. Any of you guys with Jeeps, or Zuks can feel my pain here, they are great for what they are for, but super limited on space. I have gotten pretty used to camping out of my Zuk, and when it was just me it was great. But then I had to go and get married (about a year ago) and since then I'm pretty sure the gear I need to bring has tripled... or maybe even quadrupled... but however much, it has become very apparent that the Zuk wont hold it all.

I started looking at what others have done and gathering parts. And just figuring out what to plan into the build. I have gone through several different steps ( Admit, beleive, make a decision, etc. ) to get to where I am finally ready to start. As you can imagine, money is an issue (She costs a lot!), so inexpensive is the name of the game. Something that fits my needs, was out of my price range by a fair ammount. So I decide to build from scratch.

I want to include the following. But may not get it all done on the first run. So I have designed in some modularity, so I can add stuff later
- Small, light, offroad capable