Kwuneko's 02 Pathfinder SE build

Kwuneko

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this site but have been coming here quite often over that past few months in search of a good, reliable, and affordable 4x4 option mainly for backcountry adventuring and eventually some expeditions. I've been researching on which vehicle is a good base to start with and came down to the obvious choices for most; Pathfinder, 4Runner, Tacoma, Wrangler, Cherokee, and Xterra. After enough research and experience with jeeps (I was a mechanic for 6 years) I decided to not go with any American made products unfortunately, primarily due to their reliability. I really wanted a Toyota and will probably upgrade to either an FJ or 4th Gen 4Runner down the road, but for the meantime I decided on the Pathfinder mainly due to the fact (and I'm sure most can attest to this fact) that it's very hard to find a good Toyota (Tacoma or 4Runner) that isn't either beat up and wheeled to death, or has extremely high mileage but people still want 8-10K for it. I understand that Toyota's have legendary reliability and numerous aftermarket support for the off-roading community, but bottom line is most are just outright overpriced. My price range was about 5K with decent mileage and body in good shape, no rust, and little to no mechanical issues. So I searched online and eventually found this 02 Pathfinder SE in silver and automatic with 4 wheel drive, and not the AWD mode selector on the dash, I didn't want that. It had 162k miles on it, very clean body and interior, 2 owner vehicle, and the only thing I noticed about it was the oil cooler o-ring seeping a little oil. I bought if for $5200 and couldn't be happier.