Tata to sign for Jaguar and Land Rover deal

Hoss86

Observer
Hey Guys,

I'm new to this and enjoy this forum. I read about this topic this morning on CNN. I'm not familiar with Tata Motors, but what are the chances of them making diesel engine in the future for future Land Rover? I hope the make a diesel Discovery for better mileage. Maybe, it's wishful thinking for me. I know they do make smaller diesel vehicles for general public and I think military. The new diesel vehicle for Tata is the Safari Dicor 2.2VTI. Other models are Tata Safari and the Tata 207 D1 pick-up vehicle.

michaelgroves

Explorer
The Discovery does have, and always has had, diesel options in most parts of the world! In Europe, only a smattering of petrol-powered Discos were ever sold, compared to diesel models.

(Of course, the DII is no longer manufactured - what is called the LR3 in the States is called a Discovery 3 here, but the same applies - the vast majority in Europe are diesels).

There are also diesel options for Freelanders here, and Defenders haven't even been available in a petrol version in Europe since the introduction of the TD5 engine in 1998/9!

For specs, see http://www.landrover.co.uk.

Last edited:

Yorker

Adventurer
michaelgroves said:
The Discovery does have, and always has had, diesel options in most parts of the world! In Europe, only a smattering of petrol-powered Discos were ever sold, compared to diesel models.

(Of course, the DII is no longer manufactured - what is called the LR3 in the States is called a Discovery 3 here, but the same applies - the vast majority in Europe are diesels).

There are also diesel options for Freelanders here, and Defenders haven't even been available in a petrol version in Europe since the introduction of the TD5 engine in 1998/9!

For specs, see http://www.landrover.co.uk.