"Push Button" 4wd in an e350 - Lovell 357 or other

I'm in the process of selecting an e350 for a 4x4 conversion, either a 7.3 or a 6.0. I'm wondering what it takes to eliminate the manual operated stick from the floor and run a "push button" setup of some sort.

Yes, yes, yes, I know the manual operated transfer case is better =) But I need to eliminate the shiftier from the floor space there.

One option I've found is the Lovell 357 air actuated transfer case, but I'm new to 4wd, and to building vehicles, so I'm unsure what's required to run that transfer case instead of a NV271, Borg Warner, Atlas II, etc.

Thanks for helping a newbie out! I appreciate all input in figuring out my options.

Edit: As a side note - If the Lovell 357, or some other air actuated tcase is an option, I also figure I can use the same compressor to run some ARB lockers.

Last edited:

philos

Explorer
Isn't the NP273 the electronic shifting version of the NP271? I'm no guru, but I seem to remember that being the case...

desertspeed

Adventurer
Here is a link that shows how to decipher NP/NV transfer case numbering systems:

http://bc4x4.com/faqs/yj.cfm?cat=6&faqid=162

Here is another good link:

http://www.nvg.com/tcases.html

For example, NV271 and NV273 are essentially the same transfer case, but the 271 is manual and the 273 is electric. I would think that the 273 would be a good choice for you. In retrospect, I wish I had gone that route.

Honestly, I have never believed that manually shifted TCs are more durable than electronically shifted TCs. I never had a single issue with the BW4406 in my F150 and I have had it since 2001. I think it is very, very rare for an modern actuator to fail.

mikracer

Adventurer
Agile Offroad in San Diego installs a push button 4x4 switch for their Twin Traction Beam setup. Not sure if they will sell parts, but you could probably get some good info from them.

mgmetalworks

Explorer