Tire setup for winter adventure LR3

jckstein

Observer
Hello everyone,

I recently picked up an '07 LR3 V8 SE, and have been working out how to best build it up for my needs. The intended purpose of the truck is to be as good as possible in snowy/icy/wintery conditions, but also have the capability to get off the pavement and do some adventuring. I am a student in Colorado, do a good deal of backcountry skiing, and this is to be my go-everywhere/handle-everything mountain truck. Im not sure how familiar you all are with Denver weather, but for the most part even through the winter, the temperatures are moderately warm, and the roads are usually clear. Going up into the mountains is a different story, and some of the passes and i-70 in general can get pretty sketchy. Those are the conditions I would base this setup around.

I currently have the SE 18" wheels, but i'm in need of new tires. Ive run Blizzaks as the go to winter tire on my previous car, and have had great results. I am aware of the differences in comparing a sedan snow tire with something suited for this size of a truck, so I figured I would weigh my other options.

I would like to get the look of a chunkier tire, because I think it evens out the proportions of the LR3 nicely, but I know that there aren't many snow performing tires that have the nice appearance of an A/T tire. Unfortunately, the BFG TA KO2 isn't yet out in a size that would work. This has left me choosing primarily between the Blizzaks or a set of Hakkas, but I am undecided on the best size to go for that would allow a nice appearance, while still fitting my wheel. Tire fitment has never been my speciality, so if anyone could help point me in the right direction, it would be greatly appreciated!

Additionally, ive toyed around with the potential of doing a rod mod, so thats potentially something to factor into tire sizing. I'm just unsure of what sort of experiences people have to daily driving a lifted LR3.