My 2004 Grandby project/ travel thread

eblau

Adventurer
I found a Grandby in my area and I am thinking about picking it up but the roof looks funny to me almost like really heavy snow has smashed all the material in around where the "slats" are. I am new to truck campers and clueless about the construction of the grandby's roof. To me it looks really soft... Is it supposed to look like this? Is it an aluminum skin over a wood frame? Is the roof damaged? School me!

null_zpsd30623f0.jpg

EDIT: changed the title

Last edited:

ExpoMike

It is aluminum skin over an aluminum frame. It does look like it had heavy snow on it, which caused it to compress over the frame rails. There is no sub structure under this, which is why it is lightweight. If it is not leaking, it's only cosmetic. FWC can reskin this and even likely do the new one piece roof panel. You could use this damage to help get a better price.

eblau

Adventurer
It is aluminum skin over an aluminum frame. It does look like it had heavy snow on it, which caused it to compress over the frame rails. There is no sub structure under this, which is why it is lightweight. If it is not leaking, it's only cosmetic. FWC can reskin this and even likely do the new one piece roof panel. You could use this damage to help get a better price.

Thanks Mike! Thats kind of what I was thinking, aluminum skin over a thin frame of some sort and whatever was on the roof has compressed the aluminum and sort of "exposed" the frame's outline. I don't want another project so I may steer clear of this one. Is there any wood at all used in the roofs construction?

craig333

Expedition Leader
It looks cosmetic to me. Check for leaks and if it doesn't have any and the price is reasonable I wouldn't let this stop me.

shanz3n5

Adventurer