Talk me out of buying a Jimny in Canada

brianpark

My DD is an 05 Impreza RS sedan, but I need something more capable of getting places (I work in the mountain bike industry). I'd love something I can sleep in solo in a pinch as well.

Long term the plan would be a double cab Taco, just like everyone else, but in the meantime... I'm inexplicably into Jimnys, and our local JDM guys just brought one in.

jimny.jpg

1999 Suzuki Jimny, 4x4, RHD, 95000km, 0.6L, auto, no accidents, etc.

How much of an idiot am I to pick this up? I assume replacement parts in NA will be frustration station. Insurance could be a sticky one too, right? I'd keep the Subaru as a DD and let this be my project/fun car.

Oh, did I mention? I know ****loads about bikes, and virtually nothing about cars.
-bp

JamesW

Adventurer
I had a 00 1.3 as my first car,then had an Impreza,and then back to the Jimny. It was so uncomfortable compared to the impreza,underpowered,cramped,noisy, thirsty . . . My girlfriend actually said her tits were being rattled after being in it down a road the Impreza danced down.

BUT . . . They have loads of character,they turn in their own length and they have lots of aftermarket goodies available to them. Mine was lifted 2.5" and had bigger A/Ts on it,with uprated panhard rods and shock relocation brackets,and would go anywhere.

It developed a death wobble later on,not usually caused by the kingpin bearings in the axle getting worn,basically a violent shuddering that feels uncontrollable,but is actually totally manageable.

I'm also into the MTBs,and I will tell you that a bike will never fit into the back of one without being totally disassembled ,and even then you might have the forks sticking out between the seats. and sleeping in it could be a bit of a pain,best bring a tent with you.

I still have mine and want to do a bit of work to it to get it going again. The jimny is based around one word,that word is fun!

Thirty-Nine

Explorer