My Comparo: Old Taco vs. LC vs. 4Runner

bnapier

So, I have seen many posts asking "which vehicle is for me". I just wanted to add my 2-cents as I have had some experience with some of the older Toyota models. I figured I would give a short review of my vehicles so others can save time and money (plus the hundreds of hours researching these vehicles). These are just my thoughts so take them with a grain of salt.

My goal has been to have an inexpensive, reliable, capable vehicle for back country exploration in Colorado. My overland vehicles are older because I'm not willing scratch and break an expensive vehicle. I'm also under 6-feet tall, so interior height is not an issue. Toyotas hold there value so well, I didn't lose very much money when I sold these vehicles.

My first "overlander" was a 1997 80 Series Land cruiser. I then got a 2004 excab TRD Tacoma and now have a 2000 Limited 4runner (Supercharged!). I have a 2003 100 series Land Cruiser as a daily driver (not modded, although I have taken it offroad).

All had OME lifts, ARB bumpers, winches, factory lockers, sliders, roof racks and slightly larger than stock tires.

I live in Colorado and run "kinda hard" offroad stuff. Devil's Punchbowl near Crested Butte and Wheeler Lake near Breck is about max difficulty. Most of my time is traveling in the Colorado backcountry. I've lived out of my vehicle for more than a week in each of these rigs. I also have young kids that go camping, but do not go into the back country with me. Usually it's just two people!

Here are my thoughts on each vehicle.......

1997 80 Series Land Cruiser:
GOOD:
-Good interior room
-Kinda huge. I've had some trouble on some trails due to size. Literally had damage to vehicle simply because of size
-Front and rear lockers.
-It's nice to be part of a cult
-Built like a tank
-Very comfortable offroad
-Pretty good in snow

BAD