GPS or Tablet

Clay2078

Hello,

My name is Clayton. I'm new to overlanding and need advise on navigation. What is the best option to go with? I want to be able to use the device for on and off road. I have very little if no tech "know how", so user friendly would be a huge plus. I've looked at previous threads and don't really understand the "apps" that people are putting on the tablets. Any help would be great guys. Thanks

jimi breeze

jimi breeze
If this helps.... I use separate GPS units for whatever I'm doing. I don't know of any obese size fits all unit, if there is I missed it.
road - I use a Garmin 2455LM. Just your typical road GPS but it has lifetime map updates.
off road - ipad with a Garmin Glo GPS unit. I use several mapping apps which seems to cover what I need.
trail - Garmin Oregon 400. Comes with a base map of the US
motorcycle - Garmin Nuvi

pugslyyy

Expedition Vehicle Engineer Guy
Yeah I'm with Jimi on that one. I find the on-road functionality of the Garmin units to be hard to beat. I like the big screen dezl 760LMT but I also use my ipad with Allstays apps, etc.

Whatever you get, I highly recommend the RAM mounts for holding everything in place.

VanIsle_Greg

I think I need a bigger truck!
I picked up a Dell Venue 7 Android Tablet. It is nice for navigation as well as general tablet stuff for a few reasons.

- Easy to use and good sized screen
- It is one of the only ones I could find with an unassisted GPS (does not require cellular for GPS receiver to function properly)
- It has hundreds of mapping and navigation apps to choose from for free or low cost
- It was cheap as chips and it works very well
- Light and easy to find mounts for it
- Can use it as a Car-Puter or for listening to tunes off of (Bluetooth streaming to Car System)