Any tips for suspension spacer install?

GTO71

Ok, I going to go with a 50mm spacer on my 2002 G, I will do it in the garage on jackstands.

Any quick tips on how to make it easier?........Jackstands on frame, remove wheels, disconnect sway bar, jack up suspension on opposite side, compress coil with tool on spacer side , slide in puck.....alignment after word.....I hear brake hose can get in the way on the front.....tips please??

Take a deep breath, as these are actually very simple machines that are a pleasure to work on, I have found the quality of the metal used on these are superior than anything I have worked on before, they just do not seem to oxidize like a Jeep or Chevy.

Last but not least to put the spacers on top or the bottom? Seems it is mixed on my searches. I was a professional mechanic but that was 20 years ago, so I have become a bit rusty.

merctaf

I bought two sets of spring spacers, one from Viking Off-road and another pair from Fourbyfourclub.com. They do appear different but do the same thing. I have gotten conflicting information about the installation though. Several have said install the spring spacers on the top and others have said to install them on the bottom of the springs. I am curious to hear what others have to say.

Titus Pullo

Adventurer
They can be installed top or bottom regardless, however I recommend installing them on the top. Most of my customers have them installed on the top.

merctaf

They can be installed top or bottom regardless, however I recommend installing them on the top. Most of my customers have them installed on the top.

Titus,
Thank you for your response you suggest the spacers to be installed on the top in the rear too?

Titus Pullo

Adventurer
yes, I recommend installing them on the tot; however on one of my own trucks I installed the rears at the bottom. Same thing.

merctaf

Ok, I going to go with a 50mm spacer on my 2002 G, I will do it in the garage on jackstands.