Architecture's differences between off-road RVs and normal motorhomes

ufranceschi

Hi people,

Maybe this is a novice question, but, I am really new in this expedition business.

I live in Brazil. There are some motorhomes companies around here, but they are not familiarized with the off-road expeditions RVs. I don't know why this kind of business in a large country like Brazil is pratically nonexistent...

We don't have anything similar to UNICAT, GXV, EarthRoamer, Bimobil, Bliss Mobil, Action Mobil around here. Just conventional trailers and motorhomes companies.

So, if I want something close to the off-road RVs that these amazing companies build, I'll have to buy a 4x4 truck (something like an Mercedes-Benz Atego) and customize it according to my requirements with their engineers team.

I believe that many things in the architecture between both vehicles' styles are the same: energy, water supply and filtering, some forniture, bathroom. However, I believe that there are many other differences and particularities in building an off-road RV that they are not familiarized. Chassi, suspension, furniture particularities, and so on.

If you were in my place, what kind of requirements would you list to make sure that the company has the necessary expertise? What are the architecture differences between this two RV styles (off-road and "on-road")?

Thank you a lot!

java

Expedition Leader
What are your plans for the truck? Makes a HUGE difference? Real off road/trials or just bad dirt roads?

I would make sure you get something that is metal framed, not wood. Watch departure angle, height and width. A "quality" RV interior should hold up ok, they have gotten a lot better over the years.