Tread Lightly News Releases:

Scott Brady

Founder
As a Master Tread Trainer, I receive all of the Tread Lightly new releases. I thought some of you would appreciate the updates on what they are doing...

Scott Brady

Founder
Tread Lightly KIDS

Tread Lightly! News Release
(800) 966-9900

TREAD LIGHTLY! UNVEILS NEW KIDS' OUTDOOR ETHICS WEBSITE

OGDEN, UT (September 23, 2005) — The nonprofit Tread Lightly!® has just gone live with its interactive kids’ site—- www.treadlightlykids.org. The site is part of the organization’s raised efforts to teach outdoor ethics to a growing number of kids recreating with vehicles like dirt bikes and ATVs.

The site features Tread Lightly!’s squirrel mascot, Lightfoot™, and several of his animal friends. From the colorful homepage, kids can click on to an outdoor quiz, ATV trail maze, hiking checklist, a story builder and coloring pages with crayons.

Each section also contains helpful tips to be responsible such as-— “keep your feet, bikes and ATVs on the trails” and “wash your bike and clothes after every trip so you don’t spread weed seeds.”

“This site rocks!” said 8-year-old Kyle Woolstenhulme from Cedar Hills, Utah. “I am always hiking or riding my bike, so it’s pretty cool to have a website like this. I learned some stuff and had fun coloring, making a funny story and doing the maze.”

Tread Lightly! is also making available a “Youth Outreach Kit” to government agencies, educators, and other organizations to download from the site. The printable kit includes pledge cards, a kids’ principles sheet, a poster, kids’ web banners and coloring book pages.

“Thousands of kids are hopping on motorized and mechanized vehicles every year, but a website like this just hasn't existed,” said executive director Lori Davis. "We're excited to make a difference with this generation."

-----------------------------------------------------------------