'93 F-350 4x4, 4 door, West Los Angeles

Paul B.

Adventurer
Hello all, I'm new here. Here's what I want to do. The rig's as stated above, with gas motor, standard stick shift 5 speed, steel 7' x 8' flat bed with lift gate. Single rear wheels. Totally stock. Super low miles. Got it at a fair price.

I'm looking for a mechanic with extensive off road building experience. I want go through the thing mechanically to make sure it's expedition worthy. Make appropriate upgrades to suspension and such as we see fit.

I have a decent mechanic who takes care of my fleet vehicles. I believe he's a good guy, but the off road experience and attitude just isn't there. He's super busy and unable to work on a project such as this.

Want to pull off the bed and lift gate and install a permanent camper. (I'm a contractor, I have other flat beds trucks if I need a utility truck for other uses. This is to be a permanent camping rig.). Likely to be a flat bed or chassis mount pop-up style camper with fully contained set-up. Maybe this is a thread for the camper section?

Hoping to do all this somewhere not too far from West LA, which not exactly a Mecca for off road shops from what little I know, but maybe, hopefully, I'm uninformed.

pappawheely

Autonomous4X4
A great place to start is right here. Tons of information is at your fingertips. I know of a couple boutique builders but not in your area. Shop time is quite expensive, I would do the research to find out what you want and then find someone to do the work or find a full time mechanic/fabricator to do an in house build. Anyone who has all the experience and skills necessary to do a custom build will not come cheap. Post some pics of the truck!

amgvr4

Adventurer