Adventure Truck build - 90 xtra cab 3.0

DIY Guy

Observer
Hi Expo I accidentally found the site and was instantly hooked! Im new to the whole forum thing so forgive me if Im posting this in the wrong place. I started building this truck about 6 years ago primarily for camping and overnights but it soon took on a life of its own and I thought Id share some build pix. Some are several years old and its been in a constant state of evolution ever since but it might give someone some ideas. I fabricate most everything I can and am on a pretty tight budget so you wont see a lot of high dollar name brand stuff here, either way here goes - Enjoy

Version one -
2011-02-08 13.59.18.jpg

2011-07-07 12.47.07.jpg

Added a shell
2011-07-20 20.26.48.jpg

and bed kit
2011-09-17 10.54.58.jpg

Additional storage
2011-10-05 17.01.07.jpg

added a winch
2012-03-30 22.45.30.jpg
2012-03-31 20.34.15.jpg

fabricated a snorkel
2012-04-21 12.47.04.jpg

built a rack
2012-10-02 16.01.04.jpg

Attachments

• 2010-09-18 15.41.03.jpg
    2010-09-18 15.41.03.jpg
    97.6 KB · Views: 81
Last edited:

DIY Guy

Observer
This solar array charges the marine battery mounted under the bed - cheap 45w setup from HF
20150103_145313.jpg
This small panel on the hood charges the cranking battery
20141220_130857.jpg

kesepton

I really like your build. Its a lot like what I want to do with my truck, an 88 extra cab. I am hoping to pick up a shell and carpet kit tomorrow and start building it up to about where you are. Keep it simpile and functional.

Can you give some details about how you set up your charging system? this is something ive been trying to figure out what would work best. I think id like a fully integrated system, but the ease of buying an off the shelf self contained unit is tempting. Except the price that is.

More pictures if youve got them! thanks!

DIY Guy

Observer