Picking a new dual band

kenaiking

Observer
I will start off by saying I am very new to HAM so please feel free to make other suggestions as well.

I am looking at adding a new dual band 2m/70cm to my truck. I have narrowed it down to the Icom 2730A, Yaesu 7900R and the Yaesu 8800R. I am leaning towards the Icom because I use Icom at work and they have been very easy to use and reliable. I like the wide receive capabilities of 7900 as well. I keep reading nothing but excellent reviews about both the Yaesu’s as well.

I would love some suggestions about what you would choose and why. Also what antenna you would run with it as well.

Frdmskr

Adventurer
Personally I am all about comfort. Try and find someone in a local club to see if you can try their rig. If not see a local ham radio store and try it.

That is the best answer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

wirenut

Adventurer
If you want cross-band repeat then the FT-7900 is not for you. Otherwise, it's a great radio. I have a FT-7800 and I really like it. The FT-8800 is also a great radio but the buttons aren't illuminated so it's difficult to operate in the dark. I've been a ham for 22 years and I've owned 7 Yaesus. Of the 7 only 2 ever gave any problem at all and they were very minor.
I've used an Icom 2340H dual bander for over 20 years. The buttons were starting to wear out so I bought another one off of Ebay. I also have 1 Icom 2350, almost an exact copy of the 2340 but one model newer. All three have been excellent. I use the cross band repeat function extensively which really works the finals but I've had no problems. I've been waiting for Icom to come out with a true dual band radio that wasn't ridiculously expensive because of DSTAR or APRS or whatever else they stick in these things. It looks like the 2730 is that radio. I would be very curious to try one if I needed a new radio right now. I don't. All three of my Icoms and my Yaesu are working great.