GM hydro boost brakes for newbies like me....

chilliwak

Expedition Leader
Hello everyone. I am trying to locate all the parts and such to make my 1979 Chevy pick-up into a vehicle that has hydro boost brakes as opposed to vacuum brakes. Please post or repost any info you have here, including pics. I am a total new beginner to this issue so too much info is better than not enough. Thank you, Chilli..:)

ihatemybike

Explorer
With multiple Astro vans passing through my stable, I can say head to a junk yard and grab all of it. It looks pretty simple. Just a extra set of hoses and a different booster mounted.

There is a downside to the hydro booster, loose the power steering pump or line pressure you are back to manual steering and brakes. It's happened to me twice in 20 year and over a million miles of driving hydro boost vehicles.

First time the power steering pump went out, but I was playing in a snowy parking lot at the time and had the wheel at full lock. Had to drive home from Cleveland, with a van load of mountain biker, in a snow storm, with no power steering or brakes. Engine braking rules.

Second time I had an idler pulley seize up, shedding the serpentine belt, on the way to work. No alternator, no coolant circulation, no power steering or brakes. Van still managed to get me to work, back home and to the parts store. (roughly 40 miles) \m/

I love Astros.

superbuickguy

Explorer
beside the booster, you need a pump.... the pressure side can draw off the same line, but the return lines both have to go their own port on the pump (more specifically, to the reservoir). The issues with hydroboost is leaks - rubber hose degrade pretty quickly then start to leak... of course, if you have a diesel or turbos - you don't have enough vacuum to run vacuum assist.

elyon

I spent the bucks and went with A Hydratech system. Upgraded to braided stainless lines. I bought an updated steering pump from Jegs.