New Salsa Anything HD Cage: Anybody have a few miles on them yet?

p nut

butter
No experience personally, but I am skeptical of a plastic cage being held on my tiny little bolts. Especially since tipping over isn't an uncommon experience for me. But I have heard that Salsa did address the weld issue on the second version of Anything cage (non-HD--the cheaper/metal version).

I've been meaning to get some sort of cargo system for the forks. Take a look at these from Cleveland Mtneering:

http://cleavelandmountaineering.blogspot.com/p/everything-bags.html

I like this system a LOT more than Salsa, and the others out there. Less risk of breaking from crashes, can hold odd shaped objects (not just circular/tube shaped), etc.

apalmer

Adventurer
Hey All, glad to see the discussion on these cages!

My name is Andy P, and I'm a product manager for Salsa Cycles, and led the development of these new cages.

To date, there have been three versions of the Anything Cage.

V1: These worked pretty well, but they had mounting tabs that were not as strong as we liked, so we updated them to V2

V2 was launched in early 2013, and features a fully welded one-piece back plate that replaced the previous version with the three separate mounting tabs.

V3 is the Plastic "HD" version, and it was designed to address some of the issues mentioned earlier in this thread, as well as fit things like Nalgne bottles a bit better.

What you can't quite see in pictures is that there is actually a 12mm wide washer that installs in the recess for the mounting screw, and distributes the attachment load throughout the cage very well. We also added support tabs on the back to take quite a bit of the shear load off the mounting hardware as well in the event of an impact.