The Military has its advantages. Texas to Anchorage and everything in between

truthamedia

*Note: I am new to writing and would love constructive criticism on how I could improve with both my writing style and grammar. Also, I hauled *** through this trip so as not to be late to my gaining base so keep that in mind when you comment. The first leg of my trip was completed without a camera so no pictures. Sorry about that. Scroll through it and you will see a lot more pictures in the Canada/Alaska side of the trip.

Without further ado.....:

You are given the option to go on an all expenses paid road trip complete with beautiful scenery, wildlife, and women; AND get 11 days off from work. Or you can be given a plane ticket (coach of course) complete with crying babies, crowded airports, and one bag of peanuts. Which do you choose?

I thought so.... I chose the road trip as well.

The US Air Force has been pretty good to me since I joined about six months ago. Good food (free food), decent pay, and awesome benefits. Being the land of the free means that when the government wants to relocate me to a new duty station, i get to choose the method with which I want to get myself and my things there. Being that my new duty station is Elmendorf AFB AK and considering that I had just bought my new to me Suburban, i felt that is was meant to be.
So I prepared for the long journey ahead of me with gusto. I got a diagnosis on what needed done with the Suburban, I bought emergency gear for the just-in-case factor, and I put on some bumper stickers! I knew that I would be in good shape money wise because I was going to be sleeping in the 'burb' for the trip.

Of course since the Air Force is part of the government, everything has to be difficult. The paperwork needed to even begin the trip is extensive. But I took it all in stride as I signed my signature ninety times.