my 82 chevy 3/4 ton build

Mr. Moore

Observer
Im a long time lurker.... thought I would post up my slow build...time and money. you all know the drill. So the truck. Its an 82 Chevy that started life with a diesel, so it has the hydro brake booster but now has a 350 in it with manual trans behind it. So far most of the work has been engine tuning and so forth since the truck sat for about 6 years before I got it. The flatbed was 9' long with 3' hanging out past the rear tires and a rack that was way to heavy for the truck. I have cut 2.5' off the bed and cut the frame off 9". I plan to do longer shackles up front and a shackle mount flip kit in the rear. I don't want a ton of lift, just enough to hopefully stuff some skinny 35" tires under it. This is going to be my toy/ adventure truck but I want to keep it reliable. I still need to finish the spare tire mount on the back end. I hope the pictures actually work....I'm not that good with posting photos yet. I tried to copy and paste them from my google plus acount

When I got it:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/TEs0Cau69rkBOZJ4fHYxwhaa4723aoqjrXdSO6vIfiE=w216-h162-p-no

After the rack was cut off:
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-...AAAAFvs/XsDwz8dcleA/w884-h663-no/IMG_0637.JPG

now:
https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-...AAAAF-Q/yvxmOWuPC_c/w497-h663-no/IMG_0714.JPG
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-...AAAAGD0/Ab9wrHZB-mI/w884-h663-no/IMG_0747.JPG

I would make a Photobucket account. I had the same issues when I first started posting on here and gmt400. I use it just for pictures for my build. Rather easy too haha.
But anyhoo, awesome truck! Personally, I would look at ditching the flat bed and get a camper shell, and if you still want your spare tire not in the OEM spot, i'd either fab up or try to find a custom bumper with a swivel tire mount. Just a personal preference, i'm not a big fan of flat beds. Too many ways something can fly off when i'm not on a paved road.

underdrive

jackwagon